Your “Small Problems” belong to the Gutter

So you dropped your iPhone on your way to work this morning and the screen cracked. Or, maybe your laptop decided to go HAM on you and you are on a deadline. Perhaps that rogue matatu driver decided to splash roadside pooled water on you, and you are heading to an interview. For some people, these are life changing and catastrophic problems. For me, they are nothing.

In fact, I have cracked my iPhone screen (Heheh that’s a lie, I have never owned an iPhone), my computer once decided to go on recess while I was presenting my debut PR pitch. And I lost count on the number of times matatus have made my life a living hell. I have had my share of bad days, you know.

So don’t say I can’t relate. I can.

In reality, these are small problems. They’re small because they aren’t life-changing. A phone can be replaced. Sure it may be expensive, but you could always suck it up and deal with it. You may have to reschedule that presentation, you may go back to the house and change or pop in the next shopping mall and buy a new set all together. Five minutes, not even ten minutes, of putting a panel of interviewers on hold will dent your CV, as long as you know you are good with what you are about to present.

So why fret? Your small problems are not worth the stress. Honestly, we don’t want to HEAR you fret about them either. Hush.

People often neglect taking the time to look at the big picture. Most of us that complain about these small problems are people who can afford to get an education, provide food for themselves, and sleep with a roof over their head. Such a tough life, right? Think about the homeless people on the streets who stress over how they are going to afford their next meal. Think about those who have just been diagnosed with cancer and are experiencing depression and anxiety. Think about that young girl who was raped last night, by her grandfather and no one believes her. Think about those that don’t have running water in their home because they can’t afford it. Just think.

If you’re going to talk about small things in life, talk about small luxuries. Talk about those mornings when you get to sleep in, talk about the random act of kindness a stranger did for you, talk about that day when the sunshine dominated the forecasted rain.

So yes, I want to hear about the little things in life.

I want to see the candid pictures you have on your cracked iPhone, I want to know how apologetic you were when your machine jammed, and the way you convinced your audience to bare with you. I want to hear how they laughed to that joke you cracked about how machines are more unreliable than the Kenyan Weatherman. I also want to know how you turned up for the interview looking like Peter Marangi, considering you didn’t want to go back and change. Yes I want to know how appreciative you can be, even for the little joys in life.

If you’re going to be negative, order the self-help book “Gratitude for Dummies.”

4 thoughts on “Your “Small Problems” belong to the Gutter

Leave a Reply

