The Quarter-Life Crisis

I bet we’ve all heard of the dreaded mid-life crisis that those before us have experienced. The legends tell us of 50-year old men marrying second or third wives, others hitting the club scene like testosterone lazed teenagers and my favorite, those who start hunting for old ‘German made’ kettles, padlocks, ostrich eggs and whatnot, yes am talking about the treasure hunters. We hear of middle-aged women enrolling in pole dancing classes(read Zumba), others getting boob-jobs or in worst case scenarios those who enlist the services of toy-boys. But we don’t often hear of the crisis that happens before all the rest. This crisis is a combination of thoughts and fears that haunt us in our dreams and fill our minds during almost every waking moment.

It’s that dreaded quarter-life crisis.

Almost two years ago, I told those around me that I felt as if I was experiencing some sort of mid-life crisis. They brushed it off and told me I was crazy. After all, I was only 22. How could I possibly be experiencing an identity crisis at such a young age?

It’s easy. You see, this is around the time we clear or are about to clear College and unexpectedly we’re thrust into the real world, totally unprepared. Now, we find ourselves in this place where we are supposed to know what we want to do and we are supposed to know how to do it. We’re supposed to make important decisions and plan for years in advance. No one really knows what he or she is doing but we’re all scared to admit that.

We see others enrolling in grad schools and witness others being admitted to the bar (oops those bagas are still in KSL), others getting awesome job offers, others just continue playing video games and then the winners, those who jump into the baby-making industry. They all make it look so easy. But when we look inward, we become panicked because we have no idea. We feel stuck. We see several different paths and even as we choose one of them we look backwards at the others…positive that we’re making a mistake.

Don’t believe me when I say I know. I am clueless as fuck. I have no idea of what I really want to do or even want. Each decision I make is a gamble. No one truly knows what the future holds. Like most of you, I focus so much on the future to escape the present.

But there’s no set path for us. There’s no road for us to follow. There’s no way of knowing what’s right and wrong. We just have to try.

We just have to take chances. We have to follow our dreams and listen to our hearts even when everyone is advising us against it.

We have to believe in ourselves. And above all, we have to believe that we can have it all. We can have that life we love while making a living.

We can’t always wait for the perfect time. Sometimes, you just have to jump. So if you are about to clear college, prepare yourself. If you are already in grad school, kudos. If you are still hustling like everyone else, don’t lose hope. If you are still playing video games, well…go grab yourself a copy of ‘Imagine Earth’ I hear it’s out. And if you are churning out babies, when is the next one popping out? 😉

 

Leave a Reply

